How to get a medical card in Utah
Utah’s program is run by the Utah DHHS Center for Medical Cannabis. Here is the process for a medical cannabis card, taken from the program’s own website, with fees only where the state publishes them. Fee: The application page does not state the fee amount; it is shown in the payment email after your provider certifies you.
Last updated
Key Takeaways
- Medical cannabis patients are adults 18 or older with a medical cannabis card, applied for through the state’s Electronic Verification System (EVS) (Utah Center for Medical Cannabis).
- Fee: The application page does not state the fee amount; it is shown in the payment email after your provider certifies you.
- Requirements change; confirm on the official program site before you apply.
Who can apply
- Medical cannabis patients are adults 18 or older with a medical cannabis card, applied for through the state’s Electronic Verification System (EVS) (Utah Center for Medical Cannabis).
Step by step
- Create a UtahID account, then an EVS account.
- Submit your medical cannabis application in EVS (choose “Utah resident”; optionally add a caregiver or delivery location).
- Meet in person with a medical provider, who submits a certification in EVS if you qualify.
- Pay the card fee using the emailed instructions.
- Download your card, then meet with a medical cannabis pharmacist before your first purchase.
Fees
- The application page does not state the fee amount; it is shown in the payment email after your provider certifies you.
Processing time and renewal
- The card lasts one year unless your provider sets an earlier expiration.
Using your card
- Show your card and a valid photo ID each time you visit a medical cannabis pharmacy or receive a delivery.
Medical cards and your job
A state card does not change federal workplace testing. For DOT-regulated jobs, a Medical Review Officer must not verify a test as negative because of a state medical recommendation (49 CFR § 40.151(e)).
See cannabis employment law by state for the states we have sourced.
Common questions
How much does a medical card cost in Utah?
The application page does not state the fee amount; it is shown in the payment email after your provider certifies you. Practitioner visits are usually a separate cost.
How long does it take to get a Utah medical card?
The card lasts one year unless your provider sets an earlier expiration.
Does a Utah medical card protect me at work?
Not necessarily. Workplace protections vary by state, and federal DOT testing rules apply regardless of a state card.
Sources
- government Utah DHHS Center for Medical Cannabis, Apply for a patient card ↗ accessed 2026-10-03
- government eCFR, 49 CFR § 40.151 — What are MROs prohibited from doing as part of the verification process? (U.S. DOT) ↗ accessed 2026-10-03